The World Underwater Federation

The World Underwater Federation was founded in 1959 and by now it comprises over 130 federations from 5 continents. In addition to organizing international underwater sport events it is at the forefront of technical and scientific research and development. It can be associated with elaborating one of the oldest and most extensive dive training systems.


History of CMAS

On the 28th of September 1958, delegates from the following Federations: Federal Republic of Germany, Belgium, Brazil, France, Greece, Italy, Monaco, Portugal, Switzerland, the United States of America and Yugoslavia met in Brussels on the occasion of the congress of the independent International Confederation gathering all underwater disciplines.

With this aim, a meeting was held in Monaco on January 9, 10 and 11, 1959 and a decision to establish the "World Confederation of Underwater Activities" in brief "C.M.A.S.", was taken.

This Confederation succeeded, specifically in regard to all functions and responsibilities, the "Comité des Sports Sous-Marins" (Underwater Sports Committee) of the International Confederation of Sport Fishing founded on the 22nd of February 1952.


CMAS poster

You can download the poster by clicking here or the image below (Pdf)


Related Documents



We are sorry to announce the unexpected loss of Andrea Zuccari in the Red Sea. more »


National Conference of Underwater Activists Elected 20th Underwater Activity Commission in Warsaw more »


The Cyprus Underwater Activities Association celebrates its 40th anniversary more »


The celebration of FLASSA’s 50th in Luxembourg more »

more news »